Do As I Say, Not As I Do?

Ever see the intro to Idiocracy? It all started right "here".

For a couple of years now I have been saying that the Palin family is nothing more than a brood of grifters, pulling one great big con on the uber-gullible conservative movement.

The news that the dingbat daughter of “Caribou Barbie” was being paid to pen her memoir (seriously, exactly what insights can a woman that was dumb enough to be involved with Levi Johnson have to offer anyone?) made my head hurt enough, but now comes this bit of news.

The Candie’s Foundation gave Bristol Palin a third of a mil to go around the country in her her role as an ambassador for their teen pregnancy campaign in 2009.

According to tax documents the daughter of Sarah Palin was paid $262,500 for between 15 and 20 days of work, plus another $70,000 for another brief stint last year.

So not only did they pay her that well…she didn’t exactly do much of a god damn thing for it. Sadly, this example of 21st century nepotism at its finest isn’t going away anytime soon.

According to an article in Forbes online, they gave her $$332,500 to tell fresh-faced young girls that it’s a BAD thing to get pregnant as a teenager like she did because it’s a big responsibility and just not worth it…unless your mom is famous and someone else watches your baby whilst someone else gives you over a quarter million bucks to tell kids how bad a thing it was you did and how well it worked out for you.

Yup kids, all you have to do to get rich is to have a famous controversial mom, an (arguably) likable personality and the gumption to believe you’re qualified to represent something you’ve publicly failed at.

At least she’s going to college (allegedly) and aspiring for some kind of media career (oh joy..more Palin’s on TV). She’ll have something to fall back on when her mom is no longer the poster girl for Fox News.

I am looking forward to Sarah Palin fading away one day, but I also know that someone will assuredly take her place.

I learned my lesson from Paris Hilton and Kim Kardashian. We thought Paris was annoying, but in the end we didn’t know the half of it =(.

But I digress.

So I boil the bag and dunk the water in it right?

As I was reading up on all of this I found myself wondering if the Candie’s Foundation really a charitable foundation?

Well, according to Forbes, in addition to the $262,500 they gave Bristol to roam the country, flashing her jewels and pretty smile and fancy clothes so she could WARN young girls about the dangers of “not saying no to teenaged woo-woo”, they ALSO managed to pony up a whole of $35K to donate to charities out of the $1,242,476 that was donated by the public.

All of this got me thinking, I wonder how much money they actually spent on, you know, teen pregnancy related programs.

Via ThinkProgress:

Today, the Associated Press reported that the Candie’s Foundation released its 2009 tax information, revealing that Bristol was paid a salary of $262,500.But a closer examination of the tax form by ThinkProgress shows that the group disbursed only $35,000 in grants to actual teen pregnancy health and counseling clinics: $25,000 to the Mt. Sinai Adolescent Health Center and $10,000 to the National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy.

Thus, the nonprofit paid Bristol over seven times what it paid to teen pregnancy prevention groups. In addition, the Candie’s Foundation spent $165,000 on advertising, including this spot with Bristol and “The Situation” of MTV’s Jersey Shore

Talk about a kick in the nuts to those of us who have an ounce of common sense. So not only is the entire Palin family a money-making scam, so is this “foundation”.

Raise millions, pay her handsomely to raise awareness (and thus donations) and then pay the vast majority of said money into “operating costs”, i.e. the pockets of the handful of people running the damn thing.

Now I know that in Amur’ca it’s a mortal sin to criticize anyone who is out making a buck, as if everything that is technically legal is also technically “right” in the eyes of society but c’mon.

This isn’t “work”. Not even close. It’s a sham and nothing more.

Make no mistake, it’s nice money if you can get it. In fact, just like you I’m sure, I want some of that action.

And no, not to discuss teen abstinence (which is a joke and doesn’t work…get over it evangelicals. You’re damn poster girls daughter is LIVING PROOF of that fact), but to discuss something I know even MORE about.

If the Candie’s Foundation will pay some little prettied-up Alaska hillbilly gal to discuss the dangers of doing what she did which resulted in great profit for that which she warns against, then maybe they have a few extra bucks to kick up to me for my campaign to warn the kids about…

Oh hell, who am I kidding? I have had my share of failures in my life but I cannot think of one thing I am as patently unqualified to discuss with others as Bristol Palin is with abstinence.


2 thoughts on “Do As I Say, Not As I Do?

  1. Pingback: Bristol Palin freaks out in a gay bar. | The Rantings & Ravings Of A (Formerly) Mad Mailman

  2. Pingback: Bristol Palin freaks out in a gay bar. | The Rantings & Ravings Of A (Formerly) Mad Mailman

Leave a Reply

